You are:

Equality and Diversity

The Equality Act sets out a common definition of unlawful discrimination that applies across the nine protected characteristics:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnerhship
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion and belief
  • sex
  • sexual orientation

It is important to note that the Act deals separately with the provisions on equal pay and certain provisions apply only to disability.