UCEA Board

UCEA’s Board provides organisational oversight, corporate governance, strategic direction and leadership of collective pay negotiations.

The four corporate members of UCEA are Universities UK, GuildHE, the Committee of University Chairs, and Universities Scotland. Each nominates members to the Board. They ensure that our Board is representative of the higher education institutions in our membership. UCEA is a company limited by guarantee (registered number 2914327), and all Board members are Directors of the company.
The role of UCEA Board member / Director is unremunerated and voluntary.

Our Board comprises Vice-Chancellors, Principals and Chairs of Council from our member organisations. 



Professor George Boyne, Chair of the Board
Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Aberdeen

Professor Graham Baldwin, Deputy Chair of the Board
Vice-Chancellor, University of Central Lancashire 

Professor Stuart Palmer, Deputy Chair of the Board
Chair of Council, Brunel University London

Professor Colin Bailey CBE, President and Principal, Queen Mary University of London
Professor Nishan Canagarajah, Vice-Chancellor, University of Leicester
Professor Karen Cox, Vice Chancellor and President, University of Kent
Professor Iain Gillespie, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Dundee
Professor David Green CBE, Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive, University of Worcester
Professor Jenny Higham, Vice-Chancellor, St George’s, University of London
Julia Palca, Chair of Council, City, University of London
Mike Parker, Chair of the Board of Governors, Liverpool John Moores University
Professor Ken Sloan, Vice-Chancellor, Harper Adams University
Professor Mark E. Smith CBE, President and Vice-Chancellor, University of Southampton
John Taylor CBE, Chair of the Board of Governors, Cardiff Metropolitan University
Professor Adam Tickell, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, University of Birmingham
Professor Elizabeth Treasure, Vice-Chancellor, Aberystwyth University
Martin Williams, Chair of the Board of Directors, University of Cumbria

The Company Secretary is Roshan Israni, Deputy Chief Executive.

UCEA’s work is carried out by a team led by Raj Jethwa, Chief Executive. Find out more about UCEA’s staff.